is still in beta! Let us know how we can improve things.

Hello! If you are reading this, either:
* My javascript took a shit and died. Oops!
* You don't have javascript enabled. What is this, 1996?
* You're looking directly at the page source. If you wanted something specific, get in touch.

This online tool allows you to see which notes belong to specific scales. It's intended to aid learning, or simply act as a quick reference guide.


Mode refers to a particular scale, usually of seven notes. Each mode has a different melodic feel to it. Some, like the western church modes (including major and minor), are quite common. Others may be associated with a specific mood or culture.

Enharmonics - some notes e.g. F# and Gb are the same pitch, they are said to be enharmonic. You can choose which notation you prefer. Some modes may use sharp, flat and natural versions of a note - though this tool does not handle these yet!

Colors - the root note is shown in pink, and any passing notes (like the flattened fifth in the blues scale, or the natural sixth in the bebop scale) are shown in blue.

Have a comment or suggestion?

Whether you've spotted a bug, want to request some new settings, or would just like to say hi - please use this form!

Can't read the image? click here to refresh